September 2000


Port Elizabeth – 2 September 2000

By Dave Perelson

The Eastern Province Rally Flying Championship took place in Port Elizabeth on Saturday 2nd September. We couldn’t have wished for a better day. Clear skies and fairly light winds meant a prompt start for the 10 aircraft that took part. The initial entry of 12 was unfortunately reduced to ten when two of the out of town entries had to cancel because of the rain forecast for Sunday. The day they would have to return home.

Competition director was Roy Waldek who also set the challenging route. Yours truly (Dave Perelson) took the photos and with the visitors in mind decided to give the Open Class a real challenge ending up with a total of 35 targets. This was made up of 7 TP ground markers. 16 en-route photos and 12 Turning point photos. Sportsman Class got the route plotted on the map and 8 fewer en-route photos but with 27 targets left still had a lot to cope with.

The competition started at Uitenhage airfield where the Microlight and Glider Clubs kindly made their facilities available as well as providing the refreshments. Take offs at 3minute intervals saw all aircraft off in quick succession and then the wait for each aircraft to return and carry out the compulsory spot landing. Not easy when you have to come in cold at a strange airfield.

The event ended with a sponsored braai at the Algoa Flying Club. Thanks to NAC and Air Cape and Mr. and Mrs. Bowden. Trophies were presented to the top three places in both the Sportsman and Open Class thanks to the generous sponsorship of Mr. and Mrs. Bowden.

First place in Open class went to Russell Phillips and Rob van der Merwe who received the Goodyear Floating Trophy and the Bowden individual trophies. Second place was Anton and Marius van Vuuren who received miniatures. Third place went to Claude Gerard and Kenneth Symons who also received miniatures.

In Sportsman Class first place went to Ola Akerlund and Ian Hoppe who received the Bowden Floating Trophy as well as the Bowden individual trophies. Second team was Chris Lodge and Olinga Martel who received miniatures. In third place was the team of Mike Spearpoint and Tom Crisp who also received miniatures.

Overall results:

Open Class

  • 1 R Philips and R v d Merwe 836
  • 2 A van Vuuren and M van Vuuren 2006
  • 3 C Gerard and K Symons 3214

Sportsman Class

  • 1 O Akerlund and Ian Hoppe 664
  • 2 C Lodge and O Martel 850
  • 3 M Spearpoint and T Crisp 1224
  • 4 J Ferreira and A Hitge 1472
  • 5 T Simms and R Thomas 1734
  • 6 P van der Poel and F Du Toit 1984
  • 7 J Lidderd and L Lidderd 2836

Those that could not make it this time, well you will be able to fly this route as a practice in December when you come to the Nationals. See you there.