We say farewell to Geoff Henschel formerly from Bloemfontein who died suddenly on the 24th April 2016 of a heart attack in Melbourne, Australia.

He was a past committee member and  chairman of SAPFA and represented South Africa many times in International Rally and Precision Flying Competitions.

Rest in peace our friend and gentleman of the skies.


Arddyn Moolman Arddyn Moolman – Business Woman

Arddyn received her Protea colours in 2008 and managed the SA team at the World Flying Championships in Austria that year. She has been an International Judge for the past 5 years.
She has also been involved in sport aviation including air races since 2008. She is a 2,100 hour private pilot.

Hans Potgieter

Hans Potgieter

Started flying in 1981 – Served on the Klerksdorp, Rustenburg and Mosselbay committees.

Organised the, 2013 Oudtshoorn PTAR & 2014 Gariep PTAR , regional Aerobatic competitions with club committees and Diaz air Show 2012/13/14.

General aviation support South Africa for assistance to ferry pilots throughout Europe and Africa.

Johan Juselius
Johan Juselius

Committee Member 2011 to 2012


Deon Loots

Committee Member 2011 to 2012


Dale de Klerk – Businessman

Dale has represented South Africa in Precision and Rally Flying on a number of occasions.

Committee member – 2004 to 2006

Glen MeyburghGlen Meyburgh – Video Production

Glen has been flying since 1994. He has been on the committee of the Algoa Flying Club on and off since 1996. He has acted as competition director in a number of National Rally Flying Championships.

Committee member – 2004 to 2010

Mary de Klerk – Busineswoman

Mary has represented South Africa in a number of World Rally and Precision Flying Championships.

She has been involved extensively in the development of competition flying through her involvement in the organisation of fun rally events.

Committee member – 2000, 2009-2010

Ron Stirk – Businessman

Ron started flying in 1988 and is a PPL (night and safety pilot ratings). He has served on the committee of the Brits Flying Club for a number of years as chairman.

He has represented his Province in rally and precision flying since 1991 and has been in the South African Team for 12 World Championships. Ron was crowned the World Landing Champion at the 2000 World Championships in Sweden and again in France in 2006. He has also served on the Board of the Aero Club of South Africa.

Committee member – 1999 to 2010

Barry de Groot – Businessman

Bary is a private pilot and has been involved in competitive and recreational flying for a number of years. He has served on the committee of the Pietermaritzberg Flying Club in various capacities.

He has represented South Africa 11 times in both rally and precision flying since his first selection in 1996. Barry has also acted as team manager for for the South African Team and has represented South Africa in a World Microlight Flying Championships.

Barry is also a past winner of the President’s Trophy Air Race.

Committee member – 1992 to 2010