December 2009

Competitors and Young Eagles at Springs
Competitors and Young Eagles at Springs
Springs Flying Club hosted the last of the year’s series of Fun Rallies. Nineteen entries were received for this event – the final one of the year following a series of successful similar events held at various venues the past twelve months.

The Fun Rally pilots started arriving from as early as 06h30 and on arrival were greeted with a full breakfast sponsored by the East Rand Flying Club. No less than 24 aircraft entered the Rally, but after sifting through the weather and other technical aircraft issues the final field was whittled down to eighteen competing crews and one unofficial entry from current Protea pilots, Hans and Ron.

For once the weather played along and although rain was forecast the day was a typical hot Highveld summer’s day. The wind was rather strong in the morning.

The route saw them take off on 03 and follow a 90 nautical mile anticlockwise path towards Leandra, then up north towards Witbank and then back to Springs via North of Delmas.

Jonty Esser and Sandy Goddard from Polokwane (who finished second in the Open Class in the Yuma at the SA National Championships) were the eventual winners followed by Robert Gassmann and Antony McBride in the futuristic Tanarg Trike with Hendrik and Adele Loots in third place in the striking Apollo Delta Jet Trike. Jonty and Sandi finished with an impressive 56 penalties (50 of which were for a single incorrectly identified picture).

The event was combined with the EAA and 14 young aspiring eagles attending the event. They spent the day assisting Frank and Mary with the Rally and were then whisked away into the air with their respective YOUNG EAGLES PILOTS. Lofty from SAMAA entertained them with Model Aircraft building and at the end of a hot exhausting day, the fourteen young people left the airfield feeling as though they has enjoyed a life changing experience.

The next Rally will take place at Rand Airport in February 2010.

The podium:

1st Pos Jonty Essar/Sandi Goddard
2nd Pos Robert Gassmann/Antony Mc Bride
3rd Pos Hendrik Loots/Adele Loots

Full results are attached below.


Fun Rally BriefingFun Rally Briefing Springs - 2nd CrewSprings – 2nd Crew Springs Fun Rally -1Springs Fun Rally -1
Springs Fun Rally - 2Springs Fun Rally – 2 Springs Fun Rally - 3Springs Fun Rally – 3 Springs Fun Rally - 4Springs Fun Rally – 4
Springs Fun Rally - 5Springs Fun Rally – 5 Springs Fun Rally - 6Springs Fun Rally – 6 Springs Fun Rally - 7Springs Fun Rally – 7
Springs Fun Rally - 8Springs Fun Rally – 8 Springs Fun Rally - 9Springs Fun Rally – 9

EVENT Springs Fun Rally
DATE 05-Dec-09 PLACE Springs
1 20 Hans Schewbel Ron Stirk C150 0 11 11
1 4 Jonty Esser Sandi Goddard Yuma 50 6 56
2 22 Robert Gassmann Antony McBride ZU-TAN 80 96 176
3 28 Hendrik Loots Adele Loots ZU-FDE 170 130 300
4 27 Phil wakeley Scott wakeley C182 280 244 524
5 13 Dellend Erasmus Johan Goosen Jabiru 290 360 650
6 23 Telly Thomas Senio de Pereiro PA28-235 420 339 759
7 26 Andrew Lane Hugh Lane ? 440 582 1022
8 18 S Schbotz G. Mephius PA28-180 520 580 1100
9 19 Rohan Lange Marnus Piper Warroir 161 470 660 1130
10 9 Emmie Oelofse Andrew Lane Dynaero 440 693 1133
11 15 Mark Drutman Freek Stegman C172 Hawk Xp 540 610 1150
12 16 sean murphy gary renault c172 340 890 1230
13 11 Ralph Hurwitz Brian Appleton Jab430 440 806 1246
14 25 Vindette Rahn Stan Schroeder Piper 280 1232 1512
15 24 Anton Wheeler Hylton Ackerman C 185 600 1647 2247
16 5 F J Benade Esmond Erasmus Piper Arrow 11 950 1306 2256
17 12 Savas Nicolaides Stojan Korda C172 510 1776 2286
18 21 Anthony Gordon Kevin Reeves Tecnam P2004 Bravo 800 1739 2539