2016 National Rally Championships in Brits

By Cally Eckard

The rally championships were hotly contested this year, with the prize being a place in the South African team to represent the country in the World Rally Championships in Portugal in September.

Six teams of two competed in Brits in April, in three world-class competitions.  The routes were set by three of the teams, being Frank and Cally Eckard on Friday, Rob Jonkers and Martin Meyer on Saturday, and Jonty Esser and Sandi Goddard on Sunday.  This meant an unfair advantage for the teams who did not organise routes, so the results had to be manipulated in order to obtain a fair score.

Jaco Schoen and Werner Nel, dubbed “The Bravest Pilots in SA”, took part in the Friday and Sunday competitions, having very little prior experience.  However, they gained hugely in knowledge and skills, and improved immensely from the first day to the third.  Past team members gave them a lot of tips, which they absorbed hungrily, and are very keen to continue in this sport.

Friday’s rally required the contestants to fly some arcs and to follow some features, as is done in world rallies. International Judge Jacques Jacobs set out some ground markers to add some challenges for the observation test, and to give the teams some practise in these tasks.  Saturday’s rally was a challenge for the navigators, having to plot a very complex route.  Sunday’s route was more straightforward, allowing the pilots to pay more attention to their timing over the turnpoints, and observing photographs along the track.  On all three days the landing was marked, which is very difficult after a long and arduous flight which requires maximum concentration throughout.

Deon van den Berg  once again shared his expertise as Chief Judge. Walter Walle made the trip from Bloemfontein to be in attendance as Selector as well as Chris Linakis.  Long-serving marshall Tyrone Henderson  and his son Dean helped at the landing line, as well as Ursula Schwebel who handed out and received answer sheets.  Johan and Marinda from Brits Flying Club provided excellent meals, including delicious eisbein with potato salad and sauerkraut on Saturday night.

The combined results of the three days were as follows:


Position Pilot Navigator Aircraft type Registration Total
First Adrian Pilling Mary de Klerk Cessna 172 ZS-OUZ 772
Second Hans Schwebel Ron Stirk Cessna 150 ZS-IWD 1137
Third Jonty Esser Sandi Goddard Cessna 172 ZS-MPF 1212
Fourth Frank Eckard Cally Eckard Cessna 172 ZS-MPF 1515
Fifth Rob Jonkers Martin Meyer Cessna 172 ZS-KEZ 1568
Sixth Jaco Schoen Werner Nel Cessna 182 ZS-DBP

Selectors Chris Linakis and Walter Walle were on hand to select the team to represent South Africa in September in Portugal.  They are:

Team members:

Adrian Pilling and Mary de Klerk (Manageress)

Hans Schwebel and Ron Stirk

Frank Eckard and Cally Eckard

Rob Jonkers and Martin Meyer

International Judges:

Jacques Jacobs

Arddyn Moolman

Judge Observors:

Ursula Schwebel

Reserve Chief Judge and Jurer

Deon van den Berg


Vera Jonkers

Alex Meyer